INAF-378 The Association of Southeat Asian Nations (ASEAN): Past and Present
Fall for 2015-2016
This seminar traces the evolution of ASEAN from its formation in 1967 to the present. The regional grouping began with five founding members, Indonesia, Malaysia, Singapore, Thailand, and the Phillipines, but has since doubled in size with the addition of Brunei, Vietnam, Burma(Myanmar), Laos, and Cambodia. Topics to be examined include the reasons for ASEAN's establishment, its early problems, its major reorganization in 1976, its importance for trade, its policies, its growth in membership, its strengths and weaknesses, and its many political, economic, social, and religious challenges at the start of the 21st century.
Credits: 3
Prerequisites: None
More information
Look for this course in the schedule of classes.

The academic department web site for this program may provide other details about this course.